Commanding Officers


Wing Commander Smith. Last war-time commanding officer.

No.218 Squadron was perhaps more fortunate than most within No.3 Group and Bomber Command in that it only lost two squadron commanders during its entire war time service. This is remarkable achievement but lady luck was fickled and operational experience was not always a guarantee of survival.

A number of squadron commanders only flew the obligatory 1 operation per month while some like Wing Commander Don Saville DSO DFC seemed to have operate almost weekly, this sadly was probably his undoing. Listed below are No.218 (Gold Coast) Squadrons war-time commanding officers, I have where possible tried to include as much information on their RAF careers as possible. If you can add any information or contents of the page please contact me, I will be happy to hear from you.

Wing Commander Lewin Bowring DUGGAN
Wing Commander Andrew Nicholson COMBE
Wing Commander Geoffrey Noden AMISON
Wing Commander Herbert James KIRKPATRICK
Wing Commander Paul Davie HOLDER
Wing Commander Francis Baldwin Montague READ
Wing Commander Owen Aubrey MORRIS
Wing Commander Donald Teale SAVILLE
Wing Commander William Gordon OLDBURY
Wing Commander Royd Martin FENWICK-WILSON
Wing Commander William John SMITH